March 13, 2020

Dear Parent/Guardian:

Every year, per Illinois Law, school districts are required to present prevention education to

students in all grades, pertaining to the prevention of child sexual abuse (CSA). While this may be an uncomfortable topic to consider as a parent, statistics from the National Sexual Violence Resource Center are that 1 in 4 girls and 1 in 6 boys become victims of child sexual abuse before the age of 18. Children are most vulnerable to CSA between the ages of 7 and 13.

Earlville CUSD #9’s Legally Mandated Child Sexual Abuse Prevention is presented by

educators from Safe Journeys (formerly ADV&SAS), school social worker, Mrs. Campbell, Mrs. Harp, and your child’s classroom teacher. In keeping with legal mandates (Erin's Law), that all grade levels receive safety education on child sexual abuse prevention every year, our school will once again be covering these topics with our students this Spring, starting April 7, as part of Social-Emotional Learning class, for six weeks on Tuesdays for elementary students in grades K-5 and TSI.

In conjunction with this education, we will cover bullying prevention with all grades, including cyberbullying and some internet safety. Programs are conducted annually, building on skills learned the previous year. Course content is age- and grade-level appropriate, to help students identify unsafe situations, skills to be assertive in saying “No!” to a potential abuser or bully, to get away, and to tell a safe adult, if this were to happen to them, or someone they know. The following is a brief overview of the focus of instruction at the various grade levels:

● Grades K-3 focus on body safety and proper responses to dangerous or abusive


● Grades 4-6 focuses on bullying and how to respond to bullying as a target and/or

bystander. Sexual harassment and abuse discussions will be tied in.

● 7th grade focuses on treating others with respect, and being respectful of

individual differences, communicating with people, bullying, and how to respond.

Sexual harassment and abuse discussions will be tied in.

● 8th grade through high school focuses on characteristics of healthy relationships,

unhealthy relationship qualities, dating violence, understanding abusive

relationships, and sexual abuse (what it is, how to handle it, the importance of

telling someone about it.)

For more information about Erin's Law, visit the link

For questions about this program, please contact Mrs. Campbell, School Social Worker, at

815-246-8361 x18.